365 Days of Grief & Healing

Send Flowers


We won't share your email

History

In 1870, Mr. D.K. Harvey built a lovely large home on lot #7, part of the Gatch subdivision, near the Methodist Church on Main St. in Milford.  From 1833 – 1870, a one-room brick town school, with two teachers, had occupied the site.  In 1913, Charles T. Johnson purchased the property and residence to rebuild his funeral home after a flood had destroyed his previous place of business.  In 1928, John C. Craver became Mr. Johnson’s assistant and eventually purchased the business and property from him in 1936.  John had married Sue Woodward in 1934 and they lived in the home, raising their three daughters, until 1973.  Donald & Emily Hookum, Mr. Craver’s son-in-law and daughter, had joined him in the business and eventually purchased it from him in 1966.  In 1975, construction of a 110 seat chapel was completed, affording families additional choice and convenience.

 

In 1994, Mr. & Mrs. Hookum sold the business and property to the Riggs family.  Although retired, Mr. Craver rejoined the firm as a board member in 1994 and continued in that capacity until his death in 1999.  To honor Mr. Craver, the funeral home continues to carry his name today.

 

Responding to the ever increasing demand for cremation services, an on-site crematory was installed in December 1999.  In August 2000, a separate “pet only” crematory was installed and Dogwood Pet Cremation Services was launched, providing pet cremation services to the general public as well as many of the veterinary clinics serving the greater Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky region.

 

A landmark for the residents of Milford for over 91 years, Craver-Riggs Funeral Home & Crematory continues to serve as a leader in responding to the unique and individual needs of the families we serve.